Clean Label Solutions

Clean Label ingredients for solid oral dosage forms?

Why not!

Clean Label

Film coating and tableting ingredient premixes for solid oral dosage forms.

Free of undesired excipients, such as:

  • Titanium dioxide
  • Minerals
  • Silica
  • Talc
  • Magnesium stearate
  • Palm oil
  • Stearic acid
  • Synthetic colors

In general, Clean Label is a consumer driven movement, demanding a return to real food and transparency through authenticity. For nutritional supplements, this means that they should contain natural, familiar, simple ingredients that are easy to recognize, understand and pronounce.

Replacement of undesired excipients

BIOGRUND offers market-driven solutions that are tailored to changing requirements and challenges. As a solutions provider, we gladly support you to replace excipients that are undesired.

From the beginning, we are a member of the Clean Label Alliance, which was developed out of the increasing demand from consumers for cleaner labels on dietary supplements. Savy consumers have made the connection between food as nutrition and dietary supplements as nutrition, and desire the same clean label as they have for food with dietary supplements.

However, as dietary supplement makers transition to clean labels, some are experiencing production challenges. Leaders withi the dietary supplement industry joined forces to collectively serve producers seeking to develop or transition to clean label by providing support and problem-solving solutions. The purpose of the Clean Label Alliance is to offer assistance and guidance to dietary supplement companies by providing top-of-the-line resources and solutions to efficiently produce clean label supplements.

BIOGRUND offers tailor-made solutions for your clean label formulation needs.

Clean Label

Ready-to-use Film Coating Systems

AquaPolish®
Natural colored, free of titanium dioxide (TiO2) and minerals

Various AquaPolish® film coating systems are available free of TiO2 without losing the usual opacity and brightness on your product. The customized formulations can be offered as e.g. immediate release, moisture protection or taste covering coatings. Also free of talc, minerals, synthetic polymers and colors. Natural and lightstable colors can be selected to achieve a wide range of customized colors.

  • HPMC-based film coating for fast-dissolving tablets.
  • Reliable protection for tablet cores.
  • Improves the appearance of the tablet surface.
  • Customized colors that enhance your brand identity.
  • Improves the packaging process (better slip, less dust).
  • Brilliant white formulations without titanium dioxide (TiO₂)
  • Achieves a smooth film layer, which facilitates the swallowability
Quality: Food
NutraPolish® Organic
Fast soluble, clear film coating, organic certified

For an improvement in appearance and finish of nutritional supplements (such as extracts, minerals or vitamins). Certified with USDA and EU-label for organic food.

Free of: polymers, talc, titanium dioxide, palm oil, maltodextrin, synthetic plasticizers.

The clear ready-to-use film coating formulation for solid oral dosage forms provides a simple and fast aqueous preparation of the powder compound and easy application of the suspension. For an immediate release profile. Coated tablets improve the packaging process because of better slip and no more dust formation. The organic and natural formulas will support your clean labeling strategies (e.g. Non-GMO, Non-Allergen, EU-/USDA label for organic food). The clear coating gives your product more brilliance and facilitates a better swallowability.

  • Organic certified.
  • Simple and fast aqueous preparation.
  • Immediate release profile.
  • The clear film coating gives your product more brilliance.
  • For better swallowability of the tablet.
  • Improves the packaging process (better slip, less dust).
  • Enhanced appearance of dietary supplements (shiny surface).
  • For dietary supplements such as extracts, vitamins or minerals.
Quality: Food

Tableting Premixes

CompactCel® natural
Dry binder, free of synthetics, natural/organic

Based on natural ingredients, this dry binder premix for direct compression supports clean label strategies for nutritional applications. By using this premix, typical tableting ingredients like Hydroxypropyl cellulose or Polyvinylpyrrolidone can be replaced in the core formulation.

Quality: Food


CompactCel® organic
Dry binder, free of synthetics, natural/organic

CompactCel® is also available in some formulations which are certified with the USDA- and EU-label for organic food. Therefore, it is well suited for organic dietary supplements. The mix of selected organic ingredients increases the hardness and improves the friability of the tablet as well as the compaction.

Quality: Food


CompactCel® DIS
A super-disintegrant formulated with only Clean Label ingredients

Based on natural and/or certified organic ingredients, this disintegrant premix for direct compression can be used for replacing synthetic excipients like crosslinked polymers, crosscarmellose sodium or sodium starch glycolate. It is suited for the use in tablet, capsule and granule formulations. To correspond to the requirements of a fast release dosage form, CompactCel® DIS enables a rapid break-up of solid oral dosage forms when they come into contact with moisture.

Quality: Food

Tableting & Capsule filling

CompactCel® LUB
Lubricant

The ready-to-use powder premix of natural ingredients decreases friction at the interface between tablet and die wall, reduces wear on punches and prevents sticking to punch faces. By eliminating magnesium stearate, which is often the cause of many problems with solid oral dosage forms, undesirable side effects can be reduced to a minimum. It can also be used as an alternative to stearic acid. The compound provides a good lubrication without influencing the requirements of the tablet. A fluent compression process will be achieved.

Also for the filling and closing of hard gelatin capsules it acts as an excellent lubricant to achieve a smooth filling process.

Quality: Food

CompactCel® FLO
Flow aid, glidant, replacement of silicon dioxide

A separating agent which loosens up powder mixtures and improves their flowability. It replaces synthetic excipients like silicon dioxide – for a consumer-friendly label. CompactCel® FLO provides a clean funnel flow of the powder mass to be processed during both tableting process and capsule filling. A bridge formation during flow from hopper can be avoided.
Formulations in natural or organic food quality available.

Certified with the EU and US label for organic food

Quality: Food
Graph

The impact of CompactCel® FLO on powder flowability (Angle of repose) of MCC 102 was studied. The measured parameter clearly showed the effects of CompactCel® FLO on the powder cohesivity. It is comparable with the effect of silicon dioxide.


CompactCel® MAB
Moisture/Oil absorbent

Moisture Absorbent:
Dry powder compound of additives for less problems due to humidity in the powder blend. Superior moisture absorbent properties to prevent clumping of the powder before and during the tableting or capsule filling process. Acts loosening and improves the flowability of the blend.

Oil Absorbent:
Dry powder compound of additives for oil absorption. The high absorbent properties are used to make oily substances suitable for the tableting or capsule filling process. Prevents clumping of the powder oil blend.

Depending on project requirements CompactCel® MAB can be based on synthetic ingredients or natural/organic food raw materials (silica free, for clean label).

Quality: Food

BonuTab®
Premixed tablet/encapsulation formulation

Customized tableting premix based on natural or organic ingredients. The fully formulated tableting/encapsulation dry powdered compound exists of e.g. filler, binder, glidant, lubricant, pigment/dye. These ingredients contain the necessary characteristics to produce a label-friendly and high-quality solid oral dosage form.

Benefits:
Easy handling and processing, economic savings and higher productivity because it’s a ready-to-use and tailor-made system.

Quality: Food


Tablet film coating with natural, light-resistent colors? Why not! Alternatives for titanium dioxide & iron oxide pigments

  • Clean Labeling – an important topic
  • Consumers, customers and the industry are paying more attention to the listed ingredients
  • Now looking for new solutions & alternatives: find and replace new ingredients to continue to use a consumer-friendly label that does not require additional declarations
  • Changes in the regulatory requirements lead to an adaptation of existing formulations

That’s why we’ve developed a wide range of AquaPolish® film coatings without titanium dioxide and iron oxides.

Light stability sample box: For light stability studies, we sprayed natural colored film coatings on placebo tablets and exposed them to sunlight for six and twelve hours with a Suntester (equivalent to 45 and 60 hours of real sunlight, respectively).

The measured color deviations from the reference tablet (not exposed to sunlight) are within our specification of Δ E <3.50.

Musterkasten Biogrund

Questions about the light stability of natural pigments? We are happy to assist you with the reformulation of existing formulations or new developments.

Contact us: Choose your country for the correct online contact form.

Member of the Clean Label Alliance

Take a look at the website of the Clean Label Alliance to find out more about “Your lifeline for a clean product line.”

CLA

©2022 - Biogrund GmbH

Clean Label Solutions

Warum nicht!

Clean Label Hilfsstoffe für orale Darreichungsformen?

Clean Label

Filmüberzüge und Tablettierhilfsmittel für feste orale Darreichungsformen.

Frei von unerwünschten Inhaltsstoffen wie:

  • Titandioxid
  • Mineralien
  • Siliziumdioxid
  • Talkum
  • Palmöl
  • Magnesiumstearat
  • Stearinsäure
  • synthetischen Farben

Im Allgemeinen ist Clean Label eine verbraucherorientierte Bewegung, die eine Rückkehr zu echten Lebensmitteln und Transparenz durch Authentizität fordert. Für Nahrungsergänzungsmittel bedeutet dies, dass sie natürliche, vertraute, einfache Inhaltsstoffe enthalten sollten, die leicht zu erkennen, zu verstehen und auszusprechen sind.

BIOGRUND unterstützt Sie bei der Umformulierung bestehender Zusammensetzungen und Neuentwicklungen für den Ersatz unerwünschter Inhaltsstoffe.

Von Anfang an sind wir Mitglied der Clean Label Alliance, die aus der steigenden Verbrauchernachfrage nach einer natürlicheren Zutatenliste von Nahrungsergänzungsmitteln entstanden ist. Verbraucher sehen mittlerweile die gleiche Verbindung von Nahrungsergänzungsmitteln als Ernährung wie zu Lebensmitteln als Ernährung. Weswegen sie sich hier die gleiche Kennzeichnung wünschen, die sie schon von Lebensmitteln gewohnt sind.

Da die Hersteller von Nahrungsergänzungsmitteln nun auf Clean Label umsteigen, stehen einige vor Produktionsherausforderungen. Führungskräfte aus der Nahrungsergänzungsmittelindustrie haben sich zusammengeschlossen, um gemeinsam Produzenten zu unterstützen, die ein Clean Label Produkt entwickeln wollen. Der Zweck der Clean Label Alliance ist es, diesen Produzenten Unterstützung und Beratung zu bieten, indem sie erstklassige Ressourcen und Lösungen für die effiziente Herstellung von Clean Label Formulierungen bereitstellen.

BIOGRUND bietet maßgeschneiderte Lösungen für Ihre Clean Label Strategie.

Clean Label

Ready-to-use Film Coating Systeme

AquaPolish®
Natürliche Farben, frei von Titandioxid (TiO2) und Mineralien

Verschiedene AquaPolish® Filmüberzüge sind frei von TiO2 erhältlich, ohne die gewohnte Opazität und Helligkeit auf dem Produkt zu verlieren. Die maßgeschneiderten Formulierungen sind z.B. als schnell löslicher, feuchtigkeitsschützender oder geschmacksmaskierender Filmüberzug erhältlich. Auch frei von Talkum, Mineralien, synthetischen Polymeren und Farbstoffen. Die Auswahl an natürlichen und lichtstabilen Farben ermöglicht bietet eine breite Palette für kundenspezifischen Farben an.

Kurz:

    • HPMC-basierte Filmbeschichtung für schnell lösliche Tabletten.
    • Zuverlässiger Schutz für Tablettenkerne.
    • Verbessert das Aussehen der Tablettenoberfläche.
    • Kundenspezifische Farben, die Ihre Markenidentität unterstreichen. Ohne synthetische Farbstoffe, Titandioxid und Eisenoxide. Lichtstabile, natürliche Farben.
    • Verbessert den Verpackungsprozess (besserer Gleiteigenschaften, weniger Staubentwicklung).
    • Weiße und farbige Formulierungen ohne Titandioxid (TiO₂), auch Mineralien frei.
    • Erzielt eine glatte Oberfläche, die die Schluckfähigkeit erleichtert
Qualität: Food
NutraPolish® Organic
natürlich formuliert, bio zertifiziert

Für ein besseres Aussehen und die Veredelung von Nahrungsergänzungsmitteln (wie Extrakte, Mineralien oder Vitamine). Zertifiziert mit dem US- und EU-Label für Bio-Lebensmittel.

Frei von: Polymeren, Talkum, Titandioxid, synthetischen Weichmacher.

Der ready-to-use Filmüberzug für feste orale Darreichungsformen ermöglicht eine zuverlässige und schnelle wässrige Zubereitung der Pulvermischung sowie eine einfache Suspensionsanwendung. Für einen klaren und schnell löslichen Filmüberzug. Befilmte Tabletten verbessern nicht nur den Verpackungsprozess durch bessere Gleiteigenschaften, sondern unterdrücken auch die Staubentwicklung. Der klare Filmüberzug verleiht Ihrem Produkt mehr Brillanz und erleichtert die Schluckbarkeit. Die natürlichen Formulierungen unterstützen Ihre Clean Labeling Strategie (z.B. Non-GMO, Non-Allergen, US-/EU-Label für Bio-Lebensmittel).

Kurz:

    • Klarer ready-to-use Filmüberzug für feste orale Darreichungsformen.
    • Ermöglicht eine einfache und schnelle wässrige Zubereitung der Pulvermischung & einfache Applikation der Suspension.
    • Für einen schnell löslichen Filmüberzug.
    • Für eine stärker glänzende Tablettenoberfläche.
    • Für mehr Brillanz.
    • Für eine bessere Schluckbarkeit der Tablette.
    • Verbessert das Aussehen von Nahrungsergänzungsmitteln.
    • Geeignet für Nahrungsergänzungsmittel wie Extrakte, Vitamine oder Mineralien.
Qualität: Food

Tablettierung

CompactCel® natural
Trockenbindemittel, frei von synthetischen Stoffen

Basierend auf natürlichen Inhaltsstoffen unterstützt dieses Trockenbindemittel zur Direktkompaktierung Ihre Clean Label-Strategie für Nahrungsergänzungsmittel. Durch die Verwendung dieser Hilfsstoffmischung lassen sich typische Tabletteninhaltsstoffe wie Hydroxypropylcellulose oder Polyvinylpyrrolidon in der Tablettenkern-Formulierung ersetzen.

Qualität: Food


CompactCel® organic
Trockenbindemittel, frei von synthetischen Stoffen, natürlich/organisch

CompactCel® ist auch als Formulierung erhältlich, die mit dem USDA- und EU-Label für Bio-Lebensmittel zertifiziert ist. Daher ist es für Bio-Nahrungsergänzungsmittel geeignet. Die Hilfsstoffmischung ausgewählter Bio-Zutaten erhöht die Härte und verbessert die Bruchfestigkeit der Tablette.

Qualität: Food


CompactCel® DIS
Super-Desintegrationsmittel, formuliert mit Clean Label-Inhaltsstoffen

Basierend auf natürlichen und/oder zertifizierten organischen Inhaltsstoffen kann diese Sprengmittelmischung für die Direktverpressung als Ersatz für synthetische Hilfsstoffe wie vernetzte Polymere, Crosscarmellose-Natrium oder Natriumstärkeglykolat verwendet werden. Sie ist für den Einsatz in Tabletten-, Kapsel- und Granulatformulierungen geeignet. Um den Anforderungen an eine schnell freisetzende Darreichungsform zu entsprechen, ermöglicht CompactCel® DIS ein schnelles anlösen fester oraler Darreichungsformen, wenn diese mit Feuchtigkeit in Berührung kommen.

Qualität: Food

Tablettierung & Kapselbefüllung

CompactCel® LUB
Schmiermittel

Die einfach zu handhabende Hilfsstoffmischung aus natürlichen Inhaltsstoffen verringert die Reibung an der Schnittstelle zwischen Tablette und Matrizenwand, reduziert den Verschleiß der Stempel und verhindert das Anhaften an den Stanzflächen. Durch die Eliminierung von Magnesiumstearat, das oft die Ursache für viele Probleme mit festen oralen Darreichungsformen ist, können unerwünschte Nebenwirkungen auf ein Minimum reduziert werden. Es kann auch als Alternative zu Stearinsäure verwendet werden. Die Mischung bietet eine gute Schmierung, ohne die Anforderungen der Tablette zu beeinflussen. Ein reibungsloser Tablettierprozess wird erreicht.

Auch zum Füllen und Verschließen von Hartgelatinekapseln dient es als hervorragendes Schmiermittel, um einen reibungslosen Füllprozess zu erreichen.

Qualität: Food

CompactCel® FLO
Fließmittel, gleitfähig, Siliziumdioxid frei

Ein Trennmittel, das Pulvergemische auflockert und deren Fließfähigkeit verbessert. Es ersetzt synthetische Inhaltsstoffe wie Siliziumdioxid – für ein verbraucherfreundliches „Clean-Label“ Etikett. CompactCel® FLO sorgt für einen sauberen Trichterfluss der zu verarbeitenden Pulvermasse. Sowohl während des Tablettierungsprozesses als auch während der Kapselfüllung.

Zertifiziert mit dem EU und US Zertifikat für Bio-Lebensmittel.

Qualität: Food
Graph

Der Einfluss von CompactCel® FLO auf die Pulverfließfähigkeit (Schüttwinkel) von MCC 102 wurde untersucht. Der gemessene Parameter zeigte deutlich die Auswirkungen von CompactCel® FLO auf die Pulverkohäsion. Sie ist vergleichbar mit der Wirkung von Siliziumdioxid.


CompactCel® MAB
Feuchtigkeits-/Öl-absorbierend

Feuchtigkeitsabsorbierend: Trockene Hilfsstoffmischung die Feuchtigkeitsprobleme in Pulvermischungen reduziert. Hervorragende feuchtigkeitsabsorbierende Eigenschaften, um ein Verklumpen des Pulvers vor und während des Tablettier- oder Kapselfüllprozesses zu verhindern. Wirkt auflockernd und verbessert die Fließfähigkeit ihrer Tablettiermischung.

Ölabsorbierend: Trockene Mischung von Additiven zur Ölabsorption. Die hohen Absorptionseigenschaften werden genutzt, um ölige Substanzen für den Tablettier- oder Kapselfüllprozess vorzubereiten. Verhindert das Verklumpen der Pulver-Ölmischung.

Je nach Projektanforderung kann CompactCel® MAB auf Basis synthetischer Inhaltsstoffe oder natürlicher/biologischer Lebensmittelrohstoffe (Silica frei, für Clean Label) hergestellt werden.

Qualität: Food

BonuTab®
Komplette Tabletten-/Kapsel-Formulierung

Kundenspezifische Hilfsstoff-Vormischung auf Basis natürlicher oder biologischer Inhaltsstoffe. Das fertig formulierte Tablettier-/Verkapselunggemisch besteht z. B. aus Füllstoff, Bindemittel, Gleitmittel, Schmiermittel, Pigment/Farbstoff. Diese Inhaltsstoffe enthalten die notwendigen Eigenschaften, um eine kennzeichnungsfreundliche und qualitativ hochwertige feste orale Darreichungsform herzustellen.

Vorteile: einfache Handhabung und Verarbeitung, wirtschaftliche Einsparungen und höhere Produktivität, da es sich um eine gebrauchsfertige, maßgeschneiderte Formulierung handelt.

Qualität: Food


Clean Labeling

Tablettenfilmbeschichtung mit natürlichen, lichtstabilen Farben? Warum nicht!
Alternativen für Titandioxid & Eisenoxid-Pigmente

  • Clean Labeling – ein wichtiges Thema
  • Verbraucher, Kunden & die gesamte Industrie achtet zunehmend mehr auf die Zutatenliste
  • Jetzige Aufgabe: Suche nach neue Hilfsstoffe und Inhaltsstoffen, für ein kundenfreundliches Etikett
  • Änderungen regulatorischer Anforderungen, zeihen eine Anpassung bestehender Formulierungen nach sich.

Deshalb haben wir eine breite Palette von AquaPolish®-Filmüberzügen ohne Titandioxid und Eisenoxiden entwickelt.

Für Lichtstabilitätsstudien haben wir natülich eingefärbte Filmbeschichtungen auf Placebo-Tabletten gesprüht und mit einem Suntester einmal sechs und einmal zwölf Stunden lang dem „Sonnenlicht“ ausgesetzt (das entspricht 45 bzw. 60 Stunden realem Sonnenlicht). Die gemessenen Farbabweichungen zur Referenztablette (die dem Sonnenlicht nicht ausgesetzt war) liegen innerhalb unserer Spezifikation von Δ E < 3,50.

Musterkasten Biogrund

Fragen zur Lichtstabilität natürlicher Pigmente?
Gerne unterstützen wir Sie bei der Neuformulierung bestehender Formulierungen oder Neuentwicklungen.

Kontaktieren Sie uns!

Mitglied der Clean Label Alliance

Erfahren Sie mehr über die  Clean Label Alliance und deren Ansatz „Your lifeline for a clean product line“.

CLA

©2022 - BIOGRUND GmbH