Are you facing the challenge of replacing TiO₂ in your coating formulations?

For decades, titanium dioxide (TiO2) has been used as a white pigment due to its very high opacity and brightness. Therefore, it has a wide range of applications, from being a coloring ingredient of pharmaceutical film coating, to food application coloring.

Brochure download:

TiO2 free film coating sample:

Titanium dioxide free film coatings

Based on current discussions about a new classification and labelling of TiO₂ and the re-evaluation of TiO₂ (E171) as a food additive in the EU by EFSA, BIOGRUND is committed to offering alternatives for common film coating formulations. To address this issue, BIOGRUND has developed alternatives to replace titanium dioxide in existing film coating systems.

AquaPolish®, formulated without TiO2, provides a comparable white film coating for oral solid dosage forms. Differences to the use of titanium dioxide are not apparent to the eye. The opacity is similar even when used on dark tablet cores.

BIOGRUND is member of the Clean Label Alliance.

Click to view larger images.

If required, colored film coating systems can be developed or replaced by a TiO2-free version. According to customer requirements, light-stable natural pigments can be used in the formulation when synthetic colors and iron oxides are not allowed.

TiO2 free sample box white

Titanium dioxide free tablet film coating with strong whitening and opacifying properties? Why not!

This sample box presents an alternative to TiO2 as a white pigment in tablet film coating. It shows a comparison of the opacity of conventional Aqua-Polish® white coating (with TiO2) and our new AquaPolish®, formulated without TiO2, after a 100 kg and 300 kg production scale. The opacity measurement according to the CIELAB method resulted in the following values (maximum is L100):

  • Brown placebo: L65
  • with TiO2 (100 kg): L97
  • TiO2 free (100 kg): L95

Film coating without TiO2 has always been a challenge. Not only the choice of the appropriate coating formulation is crucial for a successful coating, but also the adaptation of the process parameters to the coating, tablets and machine. With our technical support we accompany your trials and assist you in setting the right parameters for excellent results.

Are you interested in our “TiO2-Free” sample box? We will gladly send you the sample box free of charge.

Easy application of TiO2 free film coating systems

See here one application example of our AquaPolish® white formulation – free of TiO2. The ready-to-use film coating system was applied on brown oblong placebos. Used coating device was a Glatt Drum Coater GC-1. The process was stopped at an application of 5%. During the process we did not detect any problems. Click the picture to see more details.

We would be happy to support you in the reformulation of your existing formula or new project developments. Please get in contact with us and order a sample – free of charge!

©2020 - Biogrund GmbH

Sie stehen vor der Heraus­forderung, Titandioxid (TiO₂) in Ihren Film­überzugs­formulierungen zu ersetzen?

Titandioxid (TiO2) wird aufgrund seiner sehr hohen Opazität und Helligkeit seit Jahrzehnten als Weißpigment eingesetzt. Daher hat es ein breites Anwendungsspektrum, vom Farbstoff in pharmazeutischen Filmüberzügen bis hin zur Lebensmittelfarbe im Bereich von Nahrungsergänzungsmitteln.

Broschüren-Download:

Hier kostenfreies Muster bestellen:

Titandioxid freies Film Coating

Auf Grundlage aktueller Diskussionen über eine neue Einstufung und Kennzeichnung von TiO₂ und der Neubewertung von TiO₂ (E171) als Lebensmittelzusatzstoff in der EU durch die EFSA, hat sich BIOGRUND verpflichtet, Alternativen für gängige Coating-Formulierungen anzubieten. Als Ergebnis intensiver Entwicklungsarbeit, sind wir in der Lage einen Ersatz von Titandioxid für bestehenden Film-Coating-Systeme anbieten zu können.

AquaPolish®, formuliert ohne TiO₂, bietet eine vergleichbare Weißfilmbeschichtung für orale feste Darreichungsformen. Unterschiede zu herkömmlichen Titandioxid-Formulierungen sind für das Auge nicht erkennbar. Die Opazität ist auch bei Verwendung auf dunklen Tablettenkernen nahezu gleich.

BIOGRUND ist Mitglied der Clean Label Alliance.

Klicke um die Bilder zu vergrößern.

Ebenso lassen sich farbige ready-to-use Coatings ohne den Einsatz von TiO₂ nachstellen bzw. entwickeln. Je nach Kundenwunsch verwenden wir dabei lichtstabile, natürliche Pigmente, wenn synthetische Farben und Eisenoxide nicht erlaubt sind.

TiO2 free sample box white

Titandioxidfreier Tablettenfilmüberzug mit stark aufhellenden und deckenden Eigenschaften? Warum nicht!

Diese Musterbox stellt eine Alternative zu TiO2 als Weißpigment in Tablettenfilmüberzügen vor. Sie zeigt einen Vergleich der Opazität von herkömmlichem AquaPolish® Filmüberzug (mit TiO2) und dem neuen AquaPolish®, formuliert ohne TiO2, nach einem 100 kg und 300 kg Produktionsmaßstab. Die Deckkraftmessung nach der CIELAB-Methode ergab folgende Werte (Maximum ist L100):

  • Braunes Placebo: L65
  • mit TiO2 (100 kg): L97
  • TiO2 frei (100 kg): L95

Die Filmbeschichtung ohne TiO2 war schon immer eine Herausforderung. Nicht nur die Wahl der passenden Beschichtungsrezeptur ist entscheidend für eine erfolgreiche Beschichtung, sondern auch die Anpassung der Prozessparameter für Beschichtung, Tabletten und Maschine. Mit unserem technischen Support begleiten wir Ihre Versuche und unterstützen Sie bei der Einstellung der richtigen Parameter für exzellente Ergebnisse.

Haben Sie Interesse an unserer „TiO2-Free“-Musterbox? Gerne schicken wir Ihnen die Musterbox kostenfrei zu.

Einfache Anwendung von TiO2 freien Coating Systemen

Sehen Sie hier ein Anwendungsbeispiel unserer AquaPolish® Weiß-Formulierung – frei von TiO2. Das gerauchsfertige Filmbeschichtungssystem wurde auf braunen, länglichen Placebos aufgetragen. Die dazu verwendete Coating-Apparatur war ein Glatt Drum Coater GC-1. Der Prozess wurde bei einem Auftrag von 5% gestoppt. Während des Prozesses haben wir keine Probleme festgestellt. Klicken Sie auf das Bild, um weitere Details zu sehen.

Wir unterstützen Sie bei der Neu­formulierung Ihrer bestehenden Rezeptur oder neuen Projekt­entwicklungen. Kontaktieren Sie uns und bestellen Sie Ihr persönliches Muster – kostenlos!

©2021 - BIOGRUND GmbH