BIOGRUND - Apple with 100% clean labelling. Fillmcoating excellence.

A definition of clean product labelling or “clean label” for food. How can I find out for myself whether my product meets all the requirements for clean labelling?

Background to the “Clean Label” issue:
Consumers want foods and food supplements whose lists of ingredients are understandable, easy to read and which they can interpret for themselves. It is therefore important that the consumer is able to pronounce all the ingredients in the ingredient list and knows where they come from. Of course, a consumer also feels much better knowing that, for example, he is consuming pea starch instead of modified starch.

Clean labelling:

You wonder if the ingredient list of your product is “Clean Label”? If you can answer all three of the following questions with “Yes”, then your product most likely meets the requirements consumers have for a clean product label:

1. Can the consumer pronounce the name of the ingredients or excipients?
Example: Polyvinylpyrrolidone is very difficult for the consumer to pronounce because the name is very long. Guar gum, on the other hand, is much shorter and therefore easier to pronounce.

2. Can the customer see the origin of the ingredient or excipient?
Example: rice extract mixture – this formulation makes it possible for the consumer to establish a reference to the origin of the ingredient.

3. Does the consumer feel better about himself if he knows which ingredient or excipient he is consuming?
Example: If the consumer reads “rice extract mixture” he may feel much better than if he reads “magnesium stearate”. One should always ask oneself which formulation is more in line with the consumer’s wishes.

In order to meet the consumer’s clean label requirements, unwanted ingredients must be avoided in new formulations and replaced or exchanged in existing formulations. Since certain ingredients cannot simply be deleted without a loss of quality, the challenge here is to find an equivalent “clean” substitute for these ingredients.
Through labelling on the packaging such as “free from synthetic dyes”, BIO seals or “contains no nanoparticles” the consumer becomes aware of the Clean-Label ingredient list, reads it and understands it. Such a label is currently available on the market in various forms, as there are no legal regulations yet.

– This definition is based on experience and research by BIOGRUND. –

BIOGRUND - Apple with 100% clean labelling. Fillmcoating excellence.

Eine Definition der sauberen Produktkennzeichnung oder „Clean Label“ für Lebensmittel. Wie kann ich selbst herausfinden, ob mein Produkt allen Anforderungen der sauberen Kennzeichnung entspricht?

Hintergrund der „Clean Label“ Thematik: Verbraucher wünschen sich Lebensmittel und Nahrungsergänzungsmittel, deren Zutatenlisten verständlich, leicht lesbar ist und die er für sich selbst interpretieren kann. Daher ist es wichtig, dass der Konsument alle Inhaltsstoffe der Zutatenliste aussprechen kann und auch weiß woher diese Zutat kommt. Natürlich fühlt sich ein Verbraucher ebenfalls sehr viel besser, wenn er weiß, dass er beispielsweise eine Erbsenstärke konsumiert anstatt modifizierte Stärke.

Clean Labelling:

Du fragst dich, ob dein Produkt „Clean Label“ ist? Wenn du alle drei folgenden Fragen mit „Ja“ beantworten kannst, dann entspricht dein Produkt höchstwahrscheinlich den Anforderungen, die Verbraucher an eine saubere Produktkennzeichnung haben:

1. Kann der Verbraucher den Namen der Inhalts- oder Hilfsstoffe aussprechen?
Beispiel: Polyvinylalkohol ist für den Verbraucher sehr schwer auszusprechen, da der Name sehr lang ist. Glukose hingegen ist sehr viel kürzer und somit auch einfacher auszusprechen.

2. Kann der Kunde erkennen, welchen Ursprung der Inhalts- oder Hilfsstoff hat?
Beispiel: Reisextraktmischung – diese Formulierung macht es dem Verbraucher möglich, einen Bezug zum Ursprung der Zutat herzustellen.

3. Fühlt der Verbraucher sich selbst besser, wenn er weiß welchen Inhalts- oder Hilfsstoff er konsumiert?
Beispiel: Wenn der Verbraucher „Reisextraktmischung“ liest fühlt er sich vielleicht viel besser als wenn er „Magnesiumstearate“ liest. Dabei sollte man sich immer die Frage stellen, welche Formulierung eher den Wünschen des Verbrauchers entsprechen.

Um den Verbrauchern diesem Clean-Label-Wunsch erfüllen zu können, müssen unerwünschte Zutaten in Neuformulierungen vermieden und in existierenden Rezepturen ersetzt oder ausgetauscht werden. Da gewisse Zutaten nicht ohne Qualitätseinbußen einfach gestrichen werden können, ist die Herausforderung hier einen gleichwertigen „sauberen“ Ersatz für diese Zutaten zu finden.
Durch Kennzeichnungen auf der Verpackung wie z.B. „frei von synthetischen Farbstoffen“, BIO-Siegeln oder „enthält keine Nanopartikel“ wird der Verbraucher auf die Clean-Label-Zutatenliste aufmerksam, liest sie und versteht diese. Eine solche Kennzeichnung erfolgt auf dem Markt derzeit in verschiedenen Formen, da es bisher noch keine gesetzlichen Regelungen gibt.

– Diese Definition basiert auf Erfahrungswerten und Recherche. –